Full Slate of Award Recipients Announced For 80th Gold Key Dinner

The Class of 2022 which will be celebrated by the Connecticut Sports Media Alliance at the 80th Gold Key Dinner on Oct. 16. (Dailey-UConn Athletics; Dibble-Getty Images; Vieira-Notre Dame HS; Michon-ECSU Athletics; Moore-Dan Nowak/Hearst. All others submitted.)

CONNECTICUT– The Connecticut Sports Media Partnership (CSMA) is pleased to introduce the full slate of award receivers which will be honored at the 80th Gold Secret Dinner.

As formerly introduced, Gold Trick receivers for 2022 are Stonington Senior high school tennis coach George Crouse, UConn ladies’s basketball associate head train Chris Dailey, 1990 Globe Collection champion Rob Dibble of Southington, University Basketball Hall of Fame train Tom Penders and also previous PGA of America head of state Suzy Whaley. Larry Lichstein of Windsor Locks, a member of the Professional Bowlers Organization Hall of Popularity, will obtain the Head of state’s Honor.

Award winners in seven various other categories will certainly be recognized at the supper. They are:

  • Expense Lee Male Professional Athlete of the Year– Gary Moore Jr., Hillhouse Senior High School. He became the first athlete in Connecticut history to win State Open up titles in the shot put, javelin and also discus, also winning the New England championship in the latter event. He won the state hammer throw competition, as well as earned All-American honors in the discus and hammer. He will be completing at Baylor University.
  • Hank O’Donnell Women Professional Athlete of the Year– Alexis Michon, Montville/Eastern Connecticut State University. Softball pitcher uploaded a 24-1 record as well as 1.07 PERIOD, and also was voted A lot of Outstanding Bottle of the NCAA Super Regionals. She set out 204 batters as well as strolled just 37 in simply under 158 innings, and also limited challengers to a. 154 batting average.
  • Doc McInerney High School Coaches of the Year– Charles Farley, Sheehan girls track as well as field, and Larry Vieira, Notre Dame-West Haven boys ice hockey. In his 50th year at Sheehan, Farley led his team to its first-ever Class M exterior track championship, after that won the State Open. A mere 34 years after directing Branford to the 1988 Div. II hockey title, Vieira led Notre Dame to a 4-2 sway Darien to capture the Div. I crown.
  • Bob Casey Nerve Award– Cole Snider, Branford High School wrestling. Blind in his left eye, he won the 170-lb. champion, leading the Hornets to their excellent M group title. He took place to place fifth in the State Open.
  • Bo Kolinsky Unique Acknowledgment Honor– Ed Goldstone, Hamden. A 12-letter victor at Amity Regional Senior High School, he captained the basketball and also baseball groups at Yale College prior to being prepared by the Philly Phillies in 1968. He played 4 years of professional baseball, compiling a. 284 life time batting average. During his occupation as an instructor and school administrator, he was the CIAC boys basketball tournament chairman for many years.
  • Hal Levy Secondary School Accomplishment Honor– Colleen Lineburgh, Waterford Secondary school Unified sporting activities. She just recently retired after 29 years as a special education educator as well as a quarter-century as instructor of Unified sports. She was the Connecticut Secondary School Coaches’ Association Coach of the Year in 2019 and also 2021, highlighting a career mentoring Unified soccer, volley ball, bowling, cheerleading and also basketball.
  • John Wentworth Excellent Sport Honors– Abundant Altieri, Hamden, administrator and authorities in the Hamden Dads Baseball Organization as well as the Hamden Westwoods Youth Basketball organization for over 30 years; Richard Bourn, Old Saybrook, volunteer sporting activities digital photographer at Old Saybrook High School for over 40 years; Bob Cressotti, Enfield, long time volunteer with Unique Olympics, Opposition baseball as well as youth soccer; Chris and Denise Nikolis, Suffield, co-founders of the Suffield Pan-Mass Challenge Kids Ride which has actually elevated over $400,000 for the Jimmy Fund/Dana Farber Cancer Institute; Dawn O’Neil, Willington, participant of the CIAC field hockey tournament board for nearly three decades as well as event supervisor for more than two decades.
  • Bo Kolinsky Memorial Sports Media Scholarship– Peter McLean, Darien High School. Recent grad who will be going to Clemson College in the loss, learning sport communication.

The 80th Gold Key Dinner is slated for Sunday, Oct. 16 at 2 p.m. at the Aqua Grass Club in the Plantsville section of Southington. Tickets are $75, as well as are readily available by calling CSMA president Tim Jensen of Patch Media Corp. at 860-394-5091 or [email protected] Earnings sustain the Bo Kolinsky Memorial Sports Media Scholarship, a $3,000 award called in memory of the noted high school sporting activities editor of the Hartford Courant and past CSMA head of state, who died in 2003 at age 49.

People Also Read: Matikowski Develops Into Two-Sport Star At CHS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here